Light Bulb!

You know when you are busy doing nothing in particular and you suddenly get hit with an amazing idea…..a ‘light bulb!’ moment??? Well it happened to me last night and its all about food!

I was thinking about cake (nothing unusual there!) and I suddenly came up with a recipe for banoffee cake. I have no idea if it will be any good, although I can’t see anything wrong with the plan. I am going to try it out tomorrow morning and I will update you with the success or failure results as soon as it is cool enough to try!

In the meantime, I thought I would share with you the recipe for my Camping Cake

Ingredients

175g stork, 450g dried fruit, 175g Demerara sugar, 1tsp bicarbonate of soda,  3 eggs, 300g plain flour, 2tsp cinnamon, 200ml dark ale, splash of orange juice.

Method

Pre heat oven to 150 degrees and grease and line the base of a deep 20cm cake tin.  Place stork, fruit, juice, sugar and ale in a large saucepan and bring to boil slowly, stirring until everything has dissolved/melted, then simmer for approx 15 mins.  Remove from heat  and stir in bicarb ( it is supposed to bubble). Beat eggs and then stir in to mixture, then stir in flour and spice until well mixed in.  Pour in to cake tin. If you want you can scatter flaked almonds and sprinkle Demerara sugar on the top now, bake for approx 1 hour. Enjoy!

Leave a comment